2017 award winners. Clockwise from top left by Claudia Rowe, Murray Sinclair, Mia Ardianto, Anne Field, Helen Townsend, Percy Michell

2017 5th annual WOOF! Art Prize and Exhibition 22 September – 9 October

Pablo the art dog asked kids and adults to paws a while and draw, paint or make a sculpture of him (or your other favourite dog) and enter his 5th annual WOOF! Exhibition. Prizes were awarded in two age categories – Open (18 and over) and Youth (under 18 years)

Guest Judge

David Capra, artist

Prizes awarded

Open Category:

First Prize: Anne Field for Friends 2 [recycled leather and wire sculpture]

Highly Commended: Helen Townsend for Wild Child [oil on canvas]

Pablo’s Pick: Murray Sinclair for Louie at the Door [oil on board]

Youth (under 18) category:

First Prize: Percy Michell (age 7) for Diary of a Dog [mixed media on paper]

Highly Commended: Mia Ardianto for Luna [watercolour and collage on paper]

Pablo’s Pick: Claudia Rowe (age 6) for Rainbow Puppy [texta on canvas]

WOOF! Opening lucky door prize: Gayle Daniels

Derivan People’s Choice Award - $250 Prize Pack of Derivan art materials awarded to Connor MacEwan for 'Sid in Red'

View the artworks in our facebook gallery

Entries have now closed

Thank you to our 2017 Prize Sponsors

Conditions of entry:

1. Works to be the original work of the artist/s and should have been completed AFTER July 2016 and not previously displayed at Art Est. Art School.
2. Framing of artworks. All works on paper must be professionally framed and with d-rings on the back. You do not need to frame paintings painted on a stretched canvas, however paintings on a board or on canvas paper are required to be professionally framed with d-rings attached.
3. The artist’s full name, phone number, title of the work must be clearly marked on the back.
4. Works may be 2D or 3D. Acceptable disciplines are: drawing, painting, sculpture, collage, original prints (etching, collagraph linocut). Photography is excluded.
5. The maximum size for any 2 dimensional work is 100cm in any direction. The maximum size for a 3 dimensional artwork is 40x40x40cm.
6. Every effort will be made to display all entries, however due to space restrictions it may be necessary to limit the number of entries accepted.
7. Entries have CLOSED
8. All artworks are to be collected between 10 am and 7pm Tuesday 10 October. Works not collected within 14 days of this date will be disposed of at the discretion of the Gallery.
9. Works can be for sale unless marked NFS (not for sale). A 25% commission will be deducted from the selling price of any work sold by the Gallery. Artists should be aware of their GST obligations and commitments to representing commercial galleries or agents prior to setting the sale price of their artworks and completing their entry forms.
10. Delivery and collection of the artwork is the responsibility of the artist.
11. All due care will be taken however the gallery accepts no liability for loss or damage during transit or during the exhibition.
12. Art Est. Gallery reserves the right to photograph works exhibited in the exhibition for the purposes of documentation and promotion. All necessary acknowledgements will be made.